Longest World Series droughts: Who is now second to the Cleveland Guardians?

With the Texas Rangers' World Series victory, the second-longest active World Series drought is over - so who's next after the Guardians?

Cleveland Guardians v Detroit Tigers
Cleveland Guardians v Detroit Tigers / Mark Cunningham/GettyImages

With the Texas Rangers' World Series victory, the second-longest active World Series drought is officially history. Your beloved Cleveland Guardians still hold the longest active drought at a whopping 75 years, but who now sits at second?

And with the way this season went for the Guardians, just how far away is Cleveland from finally ending its run of futility? In two more seasons, the Guardians will tie the Phillies for the fourth-longest streak of all time at 77 years. The Cubs, of course, hold the record at 106 years. So only 33 more seasons until Cleveland owns this one!

Try not to think about any of that too much as we look around the rest of baseball and some of the game's other staggering active World Series droughts.

What Are the Longest Active World Series Droughts?

Now that the Rangers finally have a championship to the franchise's name (which includes the team's original run as the Washington Senators dating back to 1961, before they moved to Texas in 1972), the gap has widened between the Guardians and the rest of baseball.

Though Cleveland has two World Series titles itself - 1920 and 1948, of course - that might as well mean the team has never won to most people. And it's not like the Guardians haven't had their chances over the years; nobody needs to remind Cleveland fans of the recent heartbreak in 1995, 1997, and 2016. What's just another turn of the knife is the fact that Cleveland is also in the middle of a brutal MLB-record streak in elimination games: The Guardians have lost 11 of those in a row.

So who is now hot on the Guardians' heels? There are actually two franchises now tied for second at 55 seasons, both of whom have never won a World Series: Milwaukee and San Diego.

The Brewers, of course, began as the Seattle Pilots, playing for one season in 1969, while the Padres were an expansion team in 1969. Neither team has had many World Series chances over the years, either, as Milwaukee made just one World Series in 1982. San Diego made it in 1984 and 1998, but won just won game between those two series.

Still, that's a twenty-year gap between these teams and the Guardians. With teams like the Red Sox, White Sox and, yes, the Cubs erasing their own massive droughts over the past few decades, there aren't many teams on Cleveland's futile level.

Behind the Brewers and Padres sit the Mariners (47 seasons and now the only team to never make a World Series), Pirates (44 seasons), Orioles (40 seasons - all the more reason to make a big trade this offseason for, say, Shane Bieber), and Tigers (39 seasons).