Guardians have three Gold Glove finalists

Cleveland Guardians v Detroit Tigers
Cleveland Guardians v Detroit Tigers / Duane Burleson/GettyImages

The finalists for the 2023 Gold Glove Awards presented by Rawlings were announced Wednesday, and three members of the Cleveland Guardians found themselves among the Top-3 of their respective positions.

Second Base - Andres Gimenez

Cleveland's second baseman comes in as the reigning Gold Glove winner at second base and is looking to make it two consecutive wins at the position. Andres Gimenez will have some tough competition for the award, going up against Marcus Semien of the Texas Rangers (2021 winner) and Houston's Mauricio Dubon. Being one of the best defensive players at any position in 2023 should help his cause, which could very well lead to a repeat for Gimenez. 

Third Base - Jose Ramirez

Jose Ramirez has been named a Gold Glove finalist for the fifth time in his career. Unfortunately, it appears that the odds are stacked against him with Toronto's Matt Chapman and Houston's Alex Bregman. Chapman has three Gold Gloves and two Platinum Gloves, and his chance at winning four straight was drafted last year by Baltimore's Ramon Urias. One would think at some point, Ramirez could end up winning a Gold Glove, but it seems like this award will again prove elusive.

Left Field - Steven Kwan

Also looking for a second consecutive Gold Glove Award is Guardians' left fielder Steven Kwan. Kwan continues to be one of the best outfielders in baseball, being counted on game in and game out as a reliable glove in Cleveland's outfield. The quest for two straight Gold Gloves may be difficult for Kwan, as he is in a group that features Baltimore's Austin Hays and Toronto's Daulton Varsho. Varsho was a finalist in the National League with Arizona last year before being traded to Toronto. Hays also has his fair chance at winning, but it will more than likely come down to Kwan or Varsho when it is all said and done.